VCCA2023

When

June 29, 2023 - June 30, 2023    
8:00 am - 10:00 am

We are pleased to announce the 4th Virtual Conference on Computational Audiology (VCCA2023), which will take place on June 29-30, 2023. Note the conference starts in Sydney June 29 at 8 am local time. For US participants, this is still on the afternoon of June 28. For EU/African participants the conference starts at midnight. Below is more information about the timezone and when to participate. The conference will be hosted online on 29-30 June 2023 by Jessica Monaghan (National Acoustic Laboratories), Karina de Sousa (University of Pretoria), and Fan-Gang Zeng & Kaye Wang (University of California, Irvine). VCCA2023 will provide a platform for presentation and discussion of research in Computational Audiology. The focus lies on the applications of computational approaches (big data, machine learning, AI, signal processing) to audiological interventions and hearing science (hearing loss, hearing devices). Mission (of computational audiology):

  • Improve hearing healthcare for hard-of-hearing people (>1500 million people)
  • Improve efficacy of hearing devices and audiological interventions
  • Reduce the global burden of hearing loss with computational approaches

Topics for VCCA2023

  • Big data and (generative) AI in audiology and hearing healthcare
  • AI and music perception
  • Computational approaches to improving hearing devices and auditory implants
  • Data-based and model-based investigations into hearing loss
  • Hearing diagnostics and rehabilitation
  • Speech recognition for hearing impaired persons
  • The Virtual Hearing Clinic: e-Audiology  and e-Research (remote hearing healthcare and virtual audiological care and interventions)
  • Sustainable Hearing healthcare and accessibility (Green initiatives)
  • March 1st 2023: Abstract submission system opens
  • May 1st 2023: Abstract deadline
  • May 5th 2023: abstract submission deadline extended to May 5th (Midnight California time on the 5th, which is 7 am GMT on the 6th)
  • May 12th 2023: Decisions communicated (acceptance/rejection)
  • June 8th 2023: Deadline submission of video recordings and slides
  • June 29-30 2023: Conference

Target audience:

  • Hearing, Audiology, AI and Computational researchers all over the world
  • Especially young scientists are encouraged to take part
  • No participation fee
  • Several time zones

Upload additional images/videos to your submission More info and guidelines are found in our call for abstracts.

Please click here to book your Ticket for VCCA2023.

Time to participate:

The VCCA is a truly international event, uniting hearing scientists, innovative clinicians, and audiologists from across the globe. We are excited to connect professionals and enthusiasts through our virtual platform, facilitating meaningful discussions and collaboration across different time zones. Our comprehensive program includes submitted talks, special sessions, and keynote presentations. To ensure a seamless experience for our attendees, we have provided the session times for the full program, organized by the main blocks, for three major regions: Sydney, Australia; Pretoria, South Africa/Europe; and California, USA. Session 1 / Sydney 1 (29th June):

  • Sydney time (AEST): 8:00 AM – 3:15 PM
  • Pretoria time (SAST) / Europe (CEST): 12:00 AM – 7:15 AM
  • California time (PDT): 3:00 PM – 9:00 PM (28th June)

Session 2 / Pretoria (29th June):

  • Sydney time (AEST): 4:30 PM – 11:15 PM
  • Pretoria time (SAST) / Europe (CEST): 8:30 AM – 3:15 PM
  • California time (PDT): 11:30 PM – 6:15 AM (29th June)

Session 3 /California, US (29th June):

  • Sydney time (AEST): 1:30 AM – 8:15 AM (30th June)
  • Pretoria time (SAST) / Europe (CEST): 5:30 PM – 12:15 AM (29th-30th June)
  • California time (PDT): 8:30 AM – 3:15 PM

Session 4 / Sydney 2 (30th June):

  • Sydney time (AEST): 8:00 AM – 11:00 AM
  • Pretoria time (SAST) / Europe (CEST): 12:00 AM – 3:00 AM
  • California time (PDT): 3:00 PM – 6:00 PM (29th June)

We hope that providing the session times for these regions will help our attendees join the sessions according to their local time zones. The VCCA is dedicated to fostering a global community of hearing scientists, clinicians, and audiologists (Computational Audiology Network, CAN). We look forward to your participation in this engaging event and will provide information about registration soon.

Questions and further information

For questions email us at VCCA2023@computationalaudiology.com. More information will follow soon.